2016 PROVINCIAL ROUND of the CFMTA National Piano Competition

2016 Winner: Louisa Lu

Click here for a Global News video about Louisa Lu’s Young Artist Tour.

CFMTA Biennial National Piano Competition

The CFMTA offers a biennial National Piano Competition in odd-numbered years, in the same location as their convention. Each province/territory is eligible to send one competitor to compete for prizes totalling $13,500 in two levels of competition.

The competition is open to students studying with a Registered Music Teacher, at the under-graduate level or lower.

CFMTA/FCAPM National Piano Competition – Baltimore 2017



2019 PROVINCIAL ROUND of the CFMTA National Piano Competition

A piano competition for advanced students of ARMTA members. First place winner will represent Alberta at the CFMTA National Piano Competition and will be given the opportunity to undertake the Young Artist Tour at various venues in Alberta. Prizes range from $250-$1750.

Date: March 9, 2019

Location: Red Deer, AB

Judge: TBA

Application Deadline: October 2018

Register Online Here!

For advanced students of ARMTA members. The winner of this Provincial Round Competition must be prepared to represent the province of Alberta in the CFMTA National Piano Competition (two rounds—semi-finals and finals) to be held in Baltimore, Maryland, USA in March 2017.  The runner up must be prepared to replace the winner should circumstances make it impossible for the winner to compete at the National Competition. In the event the first prize winner is unable to participate in the Alberta Young Artist Tour, the second place winner will be given the opportunity. The prize winner who represents Alberta at the National Competition must pay an entry fee of $250, but travel and accommodation costs are covered.

Generous prizes are made possible through the continuing support of the Marek Jablonski Endowment Fund, Dorothy Buckley, the Thelma Johannes O’Neill Fund (ARMTA Edmonton Branch) and the ARMTA Recognition Fund.

Provincial Round Prizes include:

1st Place:

  • Marek Jablonski Prize $500
  • Themla Johannes O’Neill Prize $250
  • ARMTA Recognition Fund Prize $1000*

2nd Place:

  • ARMTA Recognition Fund Prize $1000*

3rd Place:

  • ARMTA Recognition Fund Prize $500

Additional Award:

  • Dorothy Buckley Prize $250 for the Best Performance of a Canadian work.

Click here to download a poster for this event.

For more information, contact dale.wheeler@rdc.ab.ca.


Past Winners

Allison Hillier: Winner of 2015 Provincial Piano Competition.
Student of Colleen Athparia from Calgary.